Tuesday, 7th February 2023
Article Image

New course record at TCS Amsterdam Marathon

by Press Release
Monday 17th October 2016
Cheered on by thousands of supporters, today Daniel Wanjiru won the 41st TCS Amsterdam Marathon in 2:05.21, setting a new course record. After joining the lead pack around the 34-kilometre mark, the Kenyan broke away in the Vondelpark and went on to cross the finish line in the Olympic Stadium, well ahead of his nearest rival. Ethiopian Meselech Melkamu took the women's title in 2:23:21. Khalid Choukoud and Ruth van der Meijden were fastest among the Dutch runners with respective times of 2:11:23 and 2:33:44.
The runners lined up at the start of today’s marathon were a wide-ranging group that included both emerging talent and seasoned athletes. The race was outside the course record until the halfway point, when Sammy Kitwara, then in the lead, picked up the pace. The ten or so other runners who followed suit included Wilson Chebet, aka Mr Amsterdam, who won in 2011, 2012 and 2013, and Bernard Kipyego, who won in 2014 and 2015. Despite promises to the contrary, both failed to defend their title. The race began in earnest at the 32-kilometre mark, when Kirui, Kitwara and Wasihun closed a 6-second gap to catch up with the lead pack. Wanjiru joined them two kilometres later. “At 30 kilometres I was in the zone and, from that point on, I ran my own race.” In the Vondelpark, with just 2 kilometres to the finish line, he surged ahead, establishing a 10-second lead. “From the 39th kilometre I knew I was going to win.” With no one else anywhere near, he finished to deafening applause in 2:05.21, hacking almost 3 minutes off his personal best. “I was well prepared for the race and was hoping to set a new personal record. Maybe I, or someone else, can shave even more off it in a future marathon.” Sammy Kitwara finished second in 2:05:45. He dictated the mentality of today’s race: “When I tried to establish a lead, others did the same. They didn’t run their own race.” He congratulated Wanjiru, but told him: “Next time, I'll be out to beat you.” Marius Kimutai placed third in 2:05:47.
Ethiopian Meselech Melkamu won the women’s title in 2:23:21, well ahead of compatriot Abebech Afework (2:24:27) and Bahrain's Eunice Chumba (2:25.00). 
A total of 45,000 runners lined up at the start of the TCS Marathon, the Mizuno Half Marathon and the TCS 8K. Next year's event will be held on 15 October 2017. Registration opens at the start of November.
Full results can be found at: www.tcsamsterdammarathon.nl.
Photo credit: Karel Delvoye, Orange Pictures

Related Articles

Article Image
Bernard Kipyego defends his title at the...Race report: TCS Amsterdam Marathon - October 18, 2015
Article Image
Daniel Wanjiru wins as three run sub one...Race report: Sportisimo Prague Half Marathon - March 28, 2015
Article Image
Bernard Kipyego wins TCS Amsterdam Marat...Race report: TCS Amsterdam Marathon - October 29, 2014
Article Image
Weekend review: October 20 & 21, 2012Shock Absorber Women Only Run,Brutal 10,Burnham Beeches 10k,Abingdon Marathon,Al...
Article Image
New course and Dutch records at Amsterda...A new course record was set, along with a new Dutch record at TCS Amsterdam Mara...
Article Image
Top athletes prepare for 41st Amsterdam ...High hopes for fast times at this year's Amsterdam Marathon
Article Image
World record-breaking athletes in TCS Am...Bernhard Kipyego, Sammy Kitwara, Wilson Chebet and Dino Sefir all line up on 16t...
Article Image
Most talented starting line-up ever for ...Race preview: TCS Amsterdam Marathon - October 18, 2015

Post A Comment

TereréJordan Blood